You are here:
< Back

Statuses are used to help track the progress of the accounts within SimplicityCollect. Every account must have a status of some kind associated with it at any given time. These statuses can be used to search for, organize, assign, report on, and even export accounts.

Statuses all belong to a specific Status Type, or group name. When you first sign up with SimplicityCollect, you have one Status Type (called “General”), and within that group there are individual Statuses (like “Closed” and “Open”). You can customize these as detailed as you would like.

As an example, I may want to create a Status Type of “Bankrupt”. Because not all bankruptcy is created equally, I can then select this new “Bankrupt” Status Type, and then create more unique Statuses within it. These may be things such as “Pending Bankruptcy”, “Chapter 7” or “Chapter 13”

Creating and Modifying a Custom Status

  1. Go to Settings > Collection Statuses.
  2. Collection Status Types appear on the left side of the screen.
  3. Either find an existing Status Type or create a new Status Type. Then click the Select button next to it.
  4. A box will appear on the right side of the screen for collection Statuses. This is where you will be able to edit, add, or delete Statuses from this Status Type group.
  5. When adding or editing a Status, you will have the option to mark one of the following features:
    1. Closed: Check this box if you want the Status to indicate a closed or unworked account. This is used to categorize statuses in reports as either “Open” (unchecked) or “Closed” (checked).
    2. Zeroes Out Balance: Check this box if you want the Status to automatically zero out the balance on the account when it is selected by an employee. Once a status with this option is set and then saved on an account, the next time you access the account the balance will read as $0.00 (with appropriate adjustments made on the Financials screen automatically).

 

Tips:

You should first decide what types of Statuses you want and then you can categorize them into logical Status Types.

If you change a status from a “Zeroes Out Balance” one to a normal one, the account will remain in a $0 balance until you manually remove the adjustments on the Financials tab.

 

See anything missing or out of date on this page? Please contact Simplicity Support at helpdesk@simplicitycollect.com.