You are here:
< Back

NOTE: The menu option Administrators is only available to administrator-type user accounts. If you need something updated, please contact your company administrator.

 

The Manage User Groups screen allows administrators to enable or disable what areas of SimplicityCollect their employees can access, based on the User Group they belong to. By default, there are three main User Groups that employees are often grouped in, which are:

Users: These individuals are the bulk of your workforce, and are often the employees making and receiving calls, taking notes, and possibly taking payments. They have very little access to the system, aside for searching and working in their accounts.

Superusers: These individuals are the supervisors or managers on the floor. They may have groups of other employees (Users) that work under them who they may be responsible for. They often have more access, usually to their own accounts and all the accounts for those on their team. They may also have access to taking payments, running reports, or adding clients or accounts to the system.

Admins: These individuals are the administrators of the software, and have complete 100% access to all accounts and functionality. Often there is only one Admin in the system, and they have control over the company information, adding or deleting employees, sending credit reports, exporting data and more.

There are two additional groups that are available by default, but are used less often. They are:

User-Notes-Edit: This is just like the normal User group, however employees in this group can also edit the notes they publish. Normally Users can only add notes, not edit or delete them (this is usually an Admin privilege). Certain company models may require their employees to be able to edit notes; if that is the case for your business, you can assign each new employee to this User Group.

Client-User: This is also like the normal User group, however it is used for clients who wish to access the software and update their accounts. When set up, employees in this group can only access accounts that belong to their Client profile. It has pros and cons compared to the Client Portal, which is another way clients can log in to SimplicityCollect and update their accounts.

Some pros are that clients who log in with a Client-User User Group have more functionality available to them, such as posting payments, adding reminders for themselves, setting up payment plans, etc. Some cons are that the Client Portal option is completely free and can have multiple logins, whereas the Client-User User Group treats each login like another employee/user (and therefore may increase your user fees in Settings > Administrators > Company/CC Settings). Also, some companies may wish for clients to have a “trimmed down” version of the software to look at.

 

Permission Options

Because of the number of choices, please refer to our page on User Group Options.

 

Editing Existing User Group Permissions

1) Navigate to Settings > Administrators > Manage User Groups.

2) Choose the group you wish to modify on the left-hand side.

3) Click on the Configure Group  icon to the right of it.

4) Options will appear on the right-hand side of the screen. You will see the name of the group you’re editing, along with checkboxes. Each checkbox refers to an area of the software you can allow or restrict access to for that User Group.

5) Select or de-select checkboxes based on what information you want your employees to have access to.

6) (OPTIONAL) You have the option to also set IP Address Access Control across an entire group, as opposed to a single collector’s account.

7) Click the button Save Group Rights to save your changes.

8) Have your employees sign out and sign back in to SimplicityCollect for the changes to take effect.

 

NOTE: Changing User Group settings will apply to ALL employees tied to that group. If you need to add/remove something from just one employee, you can try modifying their accessibility options in Settings > Administrators > Collectors/Employees, or create a brand new User Group to assign them to.

 

Deleting a User Group

1) Navigate to Settings > Administrators > Manage User Groups.

2) Choose the group you wish to modify on the left-hand side.

3) Click on the Configure Group  icon to the right of it.

4) Click on the button Delete Group. Only custom-made User Groups can be deleted. The original User Groups are programmed to always be there and will not have a Delete Group button available.

5) A message saying “Are you sure you want to delete this User Group?” will appear. Click OK to continue.

NOTE: If employees are assigned to a User Group that is deleted, they will be reassigned to the User type group automatically.

 

 

See anything missing or out of date on this page? Please contact Simplicity Support at helpdesk@simplicitycollect.com.